Managing groups


The user management functionality in LDC Via includes the concept of 'groups' for governing access to databases and documents, as well as individual users.

Users are added to groups (or group membership can be assigned on a user-by-user basis), and then that group name can be referenced in security-related fields, i.e. readers and authors.

When importing a Domino application and electing to maintain document-level security (i.e. "readers and authors fields"), LDC Via will bring in the data with some pre-defined groups referenced in the security fields.

Let's take an example of a discussion database which we have imported as 'Test-Database-01', with the security fields setting checked. Here are some groups that LDC Via has generated for us:

  • Test-Database01-MainTopic-author
  • Test-Database01-MainTopic-reader
  • Test-Database01-Response-author
  • Test-Database01-Response-reader

Note how the groups refer to form names, now 'Collections' in LDC Via. Thus, out of the box, LDC Via provides a simple mechanism that allows people to edit documents in one collection but not another. For example, a 'MainTopic' group could be populated with database power-users, i.e. a small subset of users intended to be moderators who shape the overall discussion. The 'Response' authors group could then be much bigger, and contain all those individuals you with to contribute to the discussion.

1. Creating a group

Whilst empty groups can be generated upon import, they can of course be created manually too.

Once authenticated, and in the super-user area of LDC Via, a 'Groups' option will be available from the 'System' drop-down menu — select this.

The 'Manage Groups' screen lists all groups created within the organisation by default, but a tabbed user interface lets the super-user switch to a user-centric view instead, as required.

If creating a new group, simply click the 'New Group' button, and in the resulting dialog give the group a name and, optionally, select its first member. Click 'Save Changes' to save the new group

2. Managing groups & users

Clicking on an entry (either a group or a user, depending on the tab selected) takes the super-user to an edit screen for the relevant item:

Editing a group: individual users from the current organisation are listed in a drop-down list, and once a user is selected, the 'Add' button ensures that they are now a member of the relevant group.

Editing a user: the screen features a drop-down list of groups. Selecting one and clicking 'Add' updates the user's group membership.

(As an aside, and unrelated to group management, note that individual database access can also be provided in this screen).

Have more questions? Submit a request


Powered by Zendesk